X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PushyMonk
    Forum Newbie
    • Jul 2015
    • NYC
    • Ryobi BT31000-1 & RTS21, Grizzly 715p.

BT3100 owner <~ not yet......

Hello fellow members, I am a carpenter by trade and use a grizzly saw in my cave. I have a side job that's going to require a decent amount rip Work
    Found a clean used one for $150
    Does that price seems high . They weregetting that much in 2005!
    Watched the you tube instruction dvd and this table seems versatile and easy to take apart and maybe not bad for portable job site saw ... Thoughts ... .
    Last edited by PushyMonk; 07-24-2015, 09:11 PM.
  • twistsol
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2002
    • Cottage Grove, MN, USA.
    • Ridgid R4512, 2x ShopSmith Mark V 520, 1951 Shopsmith 10ER

I think $150 is near the top end of reasonable prices for a BT3000. It's worth it, but not a steal by any means. One of the biggest perceived flaws of the BT3xx saws is that they don't stay in alignment. This is generally a false perception. Where it becomes true is when you try to use it as a job site saw and throw it in the back of a truck on a daily basis.

If you plan on moving it to the site and leaving it there, there should be no problem.
    Chr's

Comment

• leehljp
      Just me
      • Dec 2002
      • Tunica, MS
      • BT3000/3100

While this saw (BT3000/3100) was Originally designed to be a job site saw that gave precision, it soon moved into the category of "poor man's cabinet grade saw" because of its precision at a low price. At the same time, it did not hold up well as a job site saw 1. in which the typical construction worker bounced it around in the back of a pickup, 2. force fed ripping all day long. There have been several people over the years on here that used the BT3000/3100 as an inexpensive production saw and came back here to complain when it didn't stand up to the rigors or rough handling and force feeding. - Burned out motors and broken belts and alignment problems.