• Show
Clear All
  • atgcpaul
    Veteran Member
    • Aug 2003
    • Maryland
    • Grizzly 1023SLX

Pinewood derby cars

My almost 4 year old is in Awana at my parents' church. They're doing the Pinewood derby in about a month. We bought the $5 kit from them which includes a roughed out car shape, plastic wheels, axles that press into a groove cut in the body, and decals.

I've never done this before. Seems some people go nuts and buy upgraded wheels and axles. I can feel the wheels wobble on the axles, but all that stuff just seems like cheating. However, I'm not opposed to adding some graphite--which is allowed--or trying to reduce that wobble.

Anyway, her only input is that she wants it pink and purple. We started flipping through car websites but she isn't interested in the body shape at all--just pink and purple (which she'll paint). What can I reasonably expect an almost 4 year old to accomplish? Obviously if there's any major body shaping to be done, Daddy's going to do it with the band saw or sander/OSS. She can do final sanding for painting and then apply decals.

I'm trying really hard not to be a helicopter parent.
  • gsmittle
    Veteran Member
    • Aug 2004
    • St. Louis, MO, USA.
    • BT 3100

Firstly, THANK YOU for not doing the entire project for her!

Do polish the axles with 800-2000 grit sandpaper. We (my sons and I) had pretty good success chucking the axles in a Dremel and running it about half speed. It helps to lightly sand the wheels, too.

Try to get the weight as close to the limit without going over as you can. We discovered that the weight and polished axles (assuming the wheels are aligned) affected speed more than body shape, etc.

Please keep in mind that we didn't do any formal testing, just observing results at derbies.

g.
    Smit

"Be excellent to each other."
    Bill & Ted

Comment

• Stytooner
      Roll Tide RIP Lee
      • Dec 2002
      • Robertsdale, AL, USA.
      • BT3100