Clear All
  • Ian57
    Forum Newbie
    • Sep 2012
    • Cocoa, Fl.
    • Delta 34-455 Contractors Saw

Electrical Serge took out Water Heater

Hi guys
    Can you help me. The transformer apparently spiked. The power company have replaced it. The spike took out a lot of things in the house. But the main one is the water heater. Is there anything I can do in the short term to get this heater working? Unfortunately money is very tight and until the electric company pay up under the anti surge protection I am stuck.
    I hope I have this in question in the right place.
    Cheers
    Ian
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

I'm not an expert but Electric Water heaters generally have two failure mechanisms
    1. tanks rusts thru, requires a new heater as there's no way to save the tank
    2. electrical failure - heater rods (elements) go out or thermostat breaks.

Given that it broke in a power surge and I'll bet there's no water laying around its probably #2.

I think that probably either the heater elements or the thermostat may be replaceable separately. You might check with a repairman and this would probably be way more economical than a new heater, unless the heater is on its last legs (10-15 years old and likely to rust thru in a couple of years anyway) in which case its probably better to replace the whole heater.

You might even be able to DIY: http://www.diynetwork.com/how-to/how...ent/index.html
    would need basic electrical trouble shooting ability and a electrical multimeter to to determine if its the thermostat or heater element at fault. Both would be replaceable in place without emptying or removing the tank.
    Last edited by LCHIEN; 11-08-2013, 11:43 PM.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• Ian57
      Forum Newbie