X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RJD2
    Forum Newbie
    • Feb 2006

Bandsaw purchase help

I am looking to purchase a bandsaw and would appreciate some assistance with the decision. I don't do very much resawing, and basically 6" or less has been the range in the past. It will be primarily utilized for things such as bamboo rod building tasks, making wooden fishing lures, and wooden trout net frames. Budget wise less than $1,000 would be the target. I figure a 14" will suit my needs, so was looking at the G0555LANV 14" Deluxe Bandsaw from Grizzly. However, they also have a G0513ANV 17" 2 HP Bandsaw which would still fit my budget. The extra table space, etc. could come in handy. I have very little experience with bandsaws and have never owned one. My understanding with larger bandsaws is that a foot brake is nice to have for a number of reasons (e.g., safety being one, slows the blade down in a few seconds as opposed to 30 seconds). How important is a foot brake and would you consider it a deal breaker in a purchase if the bandsaw didn't have it? Any input concerning these offerings from Grizzly? Also, any other brands to consider? Thanks.