• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bob0244
    Forum Newbie
    • Dec 2013

bearings replacement - BT3000

Hi guys!
    My BT3000 conked out at the end of a project; the blade raising thread on the motor bracket completely stripped. I found and ordered a new bracket. Only saw the helicoil insert thread after the fact (I'm an old rookie). No matter. After stripping the motor assembly apart, I found 2 bearings in bad shape, and ordered both. One of the bearings on the arbor assembly was fairly easy to replace, but the other one seems impossible to get out. It's the one in the armature, between the plastic fan and the belt pulley. It just doesn't budge. I tried heating w/ a torch and almost burned the plastic fan, with no success.
    Do I have to remove the belt pulley from the shaft? How?
    Would appreciate some suggestions.
    Desperate Bob
  • LCHIEN
    Internet Fact Checker
    • Dec 2002
    • Katy, TX, USA.
    • BT3000 vintage 1999

Pulley/bearing puller? Sometimes auto shops have ones for loan or rent. Or HF has them real cheap, too.

Last edited by LCHIEN; 12-22-2013, 05:06 PM.
    Loring in Katy, TX USA
    If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
    BT3 FAQ - https://www.sawdustzone.org/forum/di...sked-questions

Comment

• mpc
      • Feb 2005
      • Cypress, CA, USA.
      • BT3000 orig 13amp model

Automotive machine shops, and many NAPA stores, have bearing puller & press equipment. For a few bucks they'll remove an old/bad bearing and properly press on a new bearing. Avoid the temptation to beat on the shaft with a hammer; that'll distort it. Steady pressure is the proper technique. A bearing puller uses steady pressure to remove bearings; a press applies pressure to the bearing and shaft to drive the parts together. As the prior post notes, only apply force to the part of the bearing that actually attaches to the shaft or into a cutout/bore; don't stress the bearing rollers during installation.