• Show
Clear All
  • poolhound
    Veteran Member
    • Mar 2006
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • BT3100

Airbrush for small projects?

Does anybody use one of these small airbrush setups rather than deal with the setup/cleanup of larger spray systems? I was thinking for small projects like boxes etc.

Jon

Phoenix AZ - It's a dry heat

We all make mistakes and I should know I've made enough of them
    techzibits.com
  • cwsmith
    Veteran Member
    • Dec 2005
    • NY Southern Tier, USA.
    • BT3100-1

I have in the past used a Badger (brand name) for a couple of small things, mostly hobby stuff like my son's one and only Pinewood Derby and of course for when we were into Model Railroading when he was small.

The "air brush" has always been a favorite tool for that kind of work and in my early work days as an technical illustrator, I gained first hand experience using one for photo retouching; not so much by me, but by a particular artist that I worked with. That guy could do some pretty fantastic work with an airbrush and it prompted a lot of interest for me. I just never had the patience for that kind of work though (constant masking and unmasking with frisket paper, etc.

But before I ever got into woodworking, the airbrush was a must-have tool for those things I mentioned above. Back then, I used to have to use cans of "Propel" because I didn't have a compressor. Today that's not a problem, but woodworking projects are much larger and my airbrush has been idle for a long time. I do use a 'touch-up gun' though, quite a bit actually, and I find for spraying finish on smaller to medium-sized woodworking projects it's pretty handy. http://www.harborfreight.com/touch-u...gun-66871.html