Woodcraft.com

BT3Central Forums

Go Back   BT3Central Forums > Discussions > BT3x00 related discussions

BT3x00 related discussions This is the place to ask questions about the Ryobi BT3 series table saws. Please limit the posts to this topic only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:55 PM
vtv010 vtv010 is offline
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 39
vtv010 is on a distinguished road
Newbie Question about Avenger 8" dado stack

I am aware that FAQ recommend to use 6" dado stack.
Nevertheless, yesterday i stumbeled on Avenger 8x42T stack dado set, item 10026 at some $12. I installed the set into my BT3100-1, no spacers were required, the right blade did not hit the motor housing, the left blade was half way on the thread, all chippers in the middle. Left blade appears to be the same "position" as with the 10" OEM blade. Everything seems to be in order, except the shims are not on arbor. aside from not being able to make dados ~1/8" in wider, am i missing anything or one uses the shims only for width adjustment?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:21 AM
maxparot's Avatar
maxparot maxparot is offline
Cookin' in the Dry Heat
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mesa, Arizona, USA.
Posts: 1,421
maxparot is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to maxparot Send a message via AIM to maxparot Send a message via MSN to maxparot Send a message via Yahoo to maxparot
The shims are used "as needed" to fine tune the width of the dado. I have that set myself and am happy with the quality of the cut. Setting the thickness can be a bit tricky as the blades and shims don't seem to add up but that isn't to hard to deal with.
__________________
Opinions are like gas;
I don't mind hearing it, but keep it to yourself if it stinks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:30 AM
drumpriest drumpriest is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa, USA.
Posts: 3,333
drumpriest is on a distinguished road
I agree with maxparot in all counts. It's a worthy investment to pick up one of those digital calipers that are also on sale right now. With those, and some test cuts, you can get exactly the widths that you need with that dado set. I have the 6" avenger stack, and I'm hopeful to get some shop time this week to finish up a little chart that I was making to help get people started.
__________________
Keith Z. Leonard
Go Steelers!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:53 PM
vtv010 vtv010 is offline
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 39
vtv010 is on a distinguished road
Thanks!
I assume std bt100 dado throat plate would not work with 8in stack. What are my options?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:10 PM
maxparot's Avatar
maxparot maxparot is offline
Cookin' in the Dry Heat
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mesa, Arizona, USA.
Posts: 1,421
maxparot is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to maxparot Send a message via AIM to maxparot Send a message via MSN to maxparot Send a message via Yahoo to maxparot
The std dado throat plate works fine within it's limits. If your stack isn't to wide for the plate and you don't raise the hight far enough to hit the plate then all is good. If you need a wider cut consider 2 passes and if you need a deeper cut then you may need to condsider a custom throat plate option. Maybe modding a std plate.
__________________
Opinions are like gas;
I don't mind hearing it, but keep it to yourself if it stinks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:11 PM
JR's Avatar
JR JR is offline
The Full Monte
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA.
Posts: 5,541
JR is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtv010
Thanks!
I assume std bt100 dado throat plate would not work with 8in stack. What are my options?
No, it works fine. You're constrained by how deep your dado can be, but it's not a practical limitation. You can probably get and inch or two of depth.

Alternatively, you can make or buy a blank throat plate and cut it for your dado stack. This makes a zero clearance throat plate for dados. Just lower the stack into the saw, install the throat plate, and raise the stack slowly.

Caution: Make sure the stack is below the throat plate before turning on the saw!!! You'll mess up the belts otherwise.

JR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2014 - BT3Central, LLC.