Woodcraft.com

BT3Central Forums

Go Back   BT3Central Forums > Discussions > Tool talk

Tool talk This forum is for discussions about any and all power tools. Whether you are looking to buy a new tool or you have a question about the usage of a tool, this is the place to be!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:48 PM
JoeyGee's Avatar
JoeyGee JoeyGee is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sylvania, OH, USA.
Posts: 1,233
JoeyGee is on a distinguished road
Question Routing a 2" Deep Mortise?

I need to rout a mortise that is 2" deep. The max I can go with my 690 and spiral bit is 1". I did a search and saw some bits in the $80-$100 range that might reach, but I am not going to pay that much.

Any suggestions before I use the DP and a chisel (ugh) to finish the remaining 1"?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2006, 09:36 PM
drumpriest drumpriest is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa, USA.
Posts: 3,333
drumpriest is on a distinguished road
Yeah, there are straight bits that will go down to 3", but they are pricey. 2" deep eh, pretty big tenon going into that. You could rip the stock to 2" wide, route from either side, then glue the falloff back on.
__________________
Keith Z. Leonard
Go Steelers!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:12 AM
allen allen is offline
Forum Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida.
Posts: 21
allen is on a distinguished road
Mortise depth is a real problem with a router. That is why I am looking at buying a seperate mortiser. I hate to spend the money but over the long run I think that it would be worth it. Looking at the Woodtec 1HP.

I know that this is no help but just wanted you to know that you are not alone.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:37 AM
LCHIEN's Avatar
LCHIEN LCHIEN is offline
Internet Fact Checker
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Katy, TX, USA.
Posts: 16,709
LCHIEN will become famous soon enoughLCHIEN will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to LCHIEN Send a message via Yahoo to LCHIEN
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen
Mortise depth is a real problem with a router. That is why I am looking at buying a seperate mortiser. I hate to spend the money but over the long run I think that it would be worth it. Looking at the Woodtec 1HP.

I know that this is no help but just wanted you to know that you are not alone.

Allen
Yeah, most mortisers cut to about 4" max, a real advantage.
__________________
Loring in Katy, TX USA
If your only tool is a hammer, you tend to treat all problems as if they were nails.
PM me (with your e-mail address) for a copy of the BT3 FAQ current vers 4.13
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2006, 06:57 AM
just4funsies just4funsies is offline
Trees Fear Him...
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida.
Posts: 843
just4funsies is on a distinguished road
HF has a stand-alone mortiser that goes on sale from time to time at $99. If you've got a 20% off coupon, then it's $79. It's good enough for most non-pro jobs. There are also add-on mortiser kits for some drill presses, but most cost more than the HF stand-alone.
__________________
...eight, nine, TEN! Yep! Still got all my fingers!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:52 AM
bigsteel15's Avatar
bigsteel15 bigsteel15 is offline
Steel byday,Wood by night
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,079
bigsteel15 is on a distinguished road
If you go buy a 1/2" end mill (for steel) of the 4 flute variety, I think you'll get very close to your 2" depth. Any supply store that sells to machine shops should have them for around $30-40.
Be VERY careful!!! Big & Sharp!!
__________________
Brian

Welcome to the school of life
Where corporal punishment is alive and well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2006, 11:15 AM
LarryG's Avatar
LarryG LarryG is offline
The Full Monte
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Off The Back
Posts: 6,681
LarryG will become famous soon enough
How wide is your mortise? Whiteside, CMT, and probably others make straight bits with 2" long cutters and about a 3-1/2" overall length, for like ~$20-22. The catch is that I think they're 1/2" diameter and up.
__________________
Larry
"I take nothing for granted now. I only have good days, and great days."
- Lance Armstrong, cancer survivor and seven-time Tour de France champion
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2006, 11:22 PM
zootroy zootroy is offline
Established Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coeur D\'Alene, Idaho.
Posts: 321
zootroy is on a distinguished road
You could get the rest of the depth with a forstner bit at the drill press.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2006, 11:39 PM
Thom2 Thom2 is offline
Resident BT3Central Research Ass.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stevens, PA, USA.
Posts: 1,785
Thom2 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Thom2 Send a message via AIM to Thom2 Send a message via MSN to Thom2 Send a message via Yahoo to Thom2
Am I the only one that would rip the piece in half and use a dado set and then glue-up??? (I guess I'm assuming this is a through-mortise, altho' I can't see any other reason that it would need to be 2" deep)

I don't have a mortiser, but a 2" mortise sounds killer to me. I don't have a router bit that long either nor am I sure I'd want to use one if I did, at least for mortising anyway. (call me paranoid).

Maybe I'm just

or off my rocker
__________________
If it ain't broke.. don't fix it!!!... but you can always 'hop it up'
**one and only purchaser of a BT3C official thong**
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2006, 12:36 AM
drumpriest drumpriest is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa, USA.
Posts: 3,333
drumpriest is on a distinguished road
It's no doubt a monster of a mortise. If it were a through mortise, it could be done by going 1" down from each direction, referencing from the same face. I agree though that a 2" mortise would be mighty scary.

I have a project in my future where I'll be doing a 3" deep dado with a router, 1.5" from either side, that'll be plenty scary enough for me, thanks.
__________________
Keith Z. Leonard
Go Steelers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2014 - BT3Central, LLC.