X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Garasaki
    • Sep 2006

How much do you use your drill press?

A few weeks ago, I bought the 100 dollar 10" DP on sale at sears, hearing it was a pretty good deal and it had some positive reviews on this and other forums. (I suppose I should point out that I'm a relatively new hobbyist, working on smaller, household type projects. Currently own a BT3k, router, and 4" jointer in terms of larger power tools. On a tight budget, of course...and have even less time available then $$)

I brought it home and set it up. Went to use it to do some doweling operations on a project, and was dismayed to find that the items I wanted to join did not fit in the DP.

Now, I understand it's a benchtop drill press, and a small one at that, but I hadn't even considered that it wouldn't fit in there.

Since then, I've tried to use the DP for a number of different things. Each time, I've come away with the feeling that using it is WAY more trouble then it's worth. It's extremely awkward to use, the table is so small that it seems only straight stock would conviently fit on it. Any sort of sheet or panel is nearly impossible to position on there. The fence it came with is a PIA to put on...and of course you have to take it off to drill on anything but straight stock. It's awkward to clamp items down. I could go on and on...

In the end, I continue to reach for my super cheap, corded, high speed drill, which isn't really very good for drilling wood (tear out anyone?) but is just so much easier to use, every time I need to drill some holes.

I am on the fence about wether I should keep the DP, or return it and buy something I think I'll find more useful (I need a random orbit sander, for instance). If I return it, I'll keep my eyes open for a smoking deal on a used floor mounted DP but who knows when I could score that...