• Show
Clear All
  • gatordogs2
    Forum Newbie
    • Aug 2007
    • So.Florida
    • 22114 soon

Which Miter saw to buy? Need help.

Newbie here to the forum and novice wood worker. I'm putting down some laminate flooring in my house and want to buy a Miter Saw. This is my first Miter saw purchase so I want to make sure its a good one. Most of all, I don't want to buy a Miter Saw and have to upgrade it in a year or two when doing more projects (crown molding, bookshelves, etc) and realized I bought a piece of sh_t or not a advanced enough model.

I’m leaning towards a 10” SCMS based on what others have said about its versatility.

Is a 10" SCMS better than a 12" non-sliding?

The 2 models which seem to have the best reputation are the Bosch 4410L or Makita LS1013.

Also, I went to look at buying a Ridgid MSUV from someone a few blocks away in anticipation of the saw. This retired gentleman has a barely used Ridgid SCMS, MS1290LZ with the Ridgid MSUV for $330 total. It's 2 years old but only used for some ~10 small bird houses and seems to run great.

Is this a good buy for a 12" SCMS and MSUV?
    or is the Ridgid MCMS no good?

Thanks for you feedback.
    Barry
    Bosch 4410L
    18.99%
    Makita LS1013LF
    35.44%
    other
    45.57%
    Last edited by gatordogs2; 08-15-2007, 10:23 AM.
    What if there is no tomorrow?....there wasn't one today!

-Barry
  • prlundberg
    Established Member
    • May 2006
    • Minnesota
    • Craftsman 21829

Another one to put on your list is the Hitachi 10" slider.

Between the Hitachi, Bosch, and Makita they are all great saws, hard to go wrong with any one of them.

Don't know much about the Ridgid but seems like a good deal if the size and weight don't bother you.

No matter what you buy make sure it comes with a decent blade or else add that to your budget. I think the stock Makita blade is pretty decent, don't know about the others.