BT3Central Forums

Go Back   BT3Central Forums > Discussions > Home Improvements & Maintenance

Home Improvements & Maintenance Every once in a while we have to come out of the shop and fix something on the Honey-do list. This is a place we can discuss those projects.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2010, 04:08 AM
JoeyGee's Avatar
JoeyGee JoeyGee is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sylvania, OH, USA.
Posts: 1,232
JoeyGee is on a distinguished road
Stove Gas Line--What Size?

I am considering replacing my electric stove with a gas one. I have a 1/2" gas line running near the area, which serves the dryer. What size do stoves use?
__________________
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2010, 04:38 AM
Uncle Cracker Uncle Cracker is offline
The Full Monte
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 7,091
Uncle Cracker will become famous soon enough
Most gas stoves I have seen use 3/4" gas line, but I don't know if that is standard. The manufacturer of your new stove will probably have some advice on this. Also, there are usually numerous codes in force regarding the materials and methods used for a gas connection, so I would recommend that you check with your local Building Dept. for their input.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:26 AM
master53yoda's Avatar
master53yoda master53yoda is offline
Established Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane Washington
Posts: 456
master53yoda is on a distinguished road
gas line size is based on the distance from the meter and other installed appliances. There are no rule of thumb sizing ideas that will work for sure because each application is different.. If you are using the dryer you can't put the stove on the same pipe. as you will have insufficient gas for either if the other is working and it will be against manufactures and code requirements. Your utility should be able to give you input.
__________________
Art

If you don't want to know, Don't ask

If I could come back as anyone one in history, It would be the man I could have been and wasn't....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2010, 10:49 AM
pelligrini's Avatar
pelligrini pelligrini is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 4,201
pelligrini is on a distinguished road
I believe it also depends on the pressure you are getting. Like Art mentioned, your gas co should be able to advise you.
__________________
Erik
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:39 PM
jdon's Avatar
jdon jdon is online now
Established Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, Wash.
Posts: 364
jdon is on a distinguished road
I recently went through a similar process in installing a gas line for a dryer. There are formulas available to calculate exact sizes, lengths, etc, but easier to find a table (many sources on internet- here's one: http://www.cityofgulfbreeze.com/natu...Guidelines.pdf

The typical gas range uses 65,000 btu/hr, and a dryer 35,000 btu/hr, so if both are being used at the same time, you need to supply 100,000 btu/hr in the line. Natural gas, conveniently enough, contains 1000 btu per cubic ft, so you need to supply 100 cubic ft/hr (which are the units all the tables use).

Looking at the tables, a 30' run of 1/2" steel pipe can supply 97 cu ft/hr, and a 20' run can provide 120 cu ft/hr, so ir your run is no more than 25' or so, you should be okay with current size.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2014 - BT3Central, LLC.