X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Cochese
    Veteran Member
    • Jun 2010

Kitchen pub table

My anniversary is coming up in a couple of weeks, and I've belatedly had the awesome idea to finally make this table I've been promising her for a couple of years. Been putting it off due to my lack of skills plus a lack of assembly space. With the workbench now in usable shape, I feel like I don't have any excuses holding me back and it would be a wonderful surprise.

My inspiration is the Southport Pub Table found at Haverty's. I may have posted it before, but here it is again: http://www.havertys.com/Product_33221

The top is 54x54 and I'm not planning on a removable leaf. It is in total 36" high, with a .75" top, 3.25" apron and a 12" tall drawer in the middle. The base measures 24" square at the outermost corners. I'm ready to build, although I may not complete it in time.

I've designed a bit plainer version, as that's more our style. (Uploading to the Warehouse apparently doesn't work for my Sketchup version anymore, and the Trimble version has bugs)

I'm looking for any critique of my design here. Should I knock down the corners of the top, etc. My top, at least temporarily, was going to be nice 3/4" ply with a hardwood edge of about 3" on all sides, which will be splined into the ply and each other at the corners. I need to know if I'll need bracing outside of the support 'box' in the middle, there will be 30" of overhang to any flat side.

Construction will be of poplar for the base and apron, 3/4" ply for the box.
    I have a little blog about my shop
  • JimD
    Veteran Member
    • Feb 2003
    • Lexington, SC.

Poplar is pretty soft. You might want to try looking for on-line sources for turned legs if your budget will allow. Maple would be more durable.